Zur Übersicht
Various Artists
FAT SIX10 Compilation


CD/LP RELEASE: 08.08.2014




01. Eating Snow - Bridges*
02. Douglas Greed - Springtime In December**
03. Mathias Kaden - Freakinme**
04. Juno6 - Seq02**
05. Tim Vitá & Oliver Gehrmann - Charles Rockin' Chair*
06. Monkey Maffia - Gladis**
07. Metaboman & Large M - G and B**
08. Kadebostan & Laolu - I Need To Feel Something**
09. Taron-Trekka - Kanatter*
10. Jesper Ryom - Soporro
11. Thomas Stieler - Observatory**
12. Gathaspar - Seraphine**
13. Feindrehstar - Dirty Stomping*
14. Mooryc - Green In Blue
15. Berk Offset - Ranzzeit
16. No Accident In Paradise - Schornstein Milchreis*

What began in the mid-90's, initiated by the event-organizer duo Sperling & Mauss, in Jena as an event series by the name of "Freude am Tanzen" has long been the best-known platform for electronic music on the Saale river. In the meantime there are over sixty releases, a subsidiary label (Musik Krause) and in-house booking agency. With 16 years in, the still young enterprise Freude am Tanzen is on the way from adolescence to adulthood. Yet in spite of tightly organized structures, fortunately boredom has not set in, and this is proven with the jubilee compilation SIX10 Jahre Freude am Tanzen.
"For us it's all about a small forum to present our artists and thereby a view into the musical diversity", this from FAT-head Thomas Sperling regarding the newest compilation. "It would be too easy to take the best tracks from 16 years of Freude am Tanzen and pack them into a sampler" he explains as the reasoning being SIX10 being no 'best-of' but rather chock full with new tracks. Still, the question begs, why for the 16th year? "We decided against round numbered anniversaries because everyone does that", says Sperling. "It doesn't really matter if it's 10, 15 or 16 years. Perhaps the next one is the 23rd. A nice prime number full of meaning. Incidentally you can't even come in a techno club with 16 years, but the first beer is good to go." Okay then, Cheers! A toast to sixteen years of Freude am Tanzen and likewise many new tracks from almost every artist of the label history until now, that span the stylistic spectrum from here to there. The kickoff comes from Eating Snow with it's sense fully-introverted track "Bridges" along with the unique vocals of Mooryc on the melancholic veins in the music from Douglass Greed. It continues with a throttling "Dougi" solo with "Springtime in December" that keeps tempo and holds the dance floor securely in view. From there we are taken to the apparently restlessly touring Mathias Kaden with his club proven "Freakinme", and then there is Juno6 from Leipzig with "Seq02" again turning down the lights and leaving everyone at ease spelled out as D-e-e-p-n-e-s-s. The FAT newcomers Tim Vita & Oliver Gehrmann in the early part of the year fell in the disco magic potion cauldron, and Monkey Maffia hammers with his soul-infused goods a piano melody loaded for the dance. Fairly abrupt on the stage appear Metaboman & Large M with their concentrated house sound, and the Swiss Kadebostan & Laolu make for themselves a courageous acid bath of velvety and dark vocals and belly growling massaging kicks. More laid-back offerings are from Taron-Trekka with their "Kanatter", a demonstration of themselves as masters of the relaxed deep-house fluffiness. Melody-smitten is the Danish Jesper Ryom, while Thomas Stieler trudges forth on his quest for the perfect groove with "Observatory". Here the FAT rookie has found himself. Continuing anew is the straight bass drum from Gathaspar, the spiritual choir singing over nervous twitching drums and claps in layers that send us into far away spheres. Thanks to heavy grounded in funk and packed on the way, we have Feindrehstar who with their title track "Dirty Stomping" is more than adequate. Toward the end of the compilation again there is Mooryc who, as it were, is soon to have a completely new album on FAT with a suave hello, while Berk Offset shortly before the end with "Ranzzeit" goes under the walls of every club. The perfect finale comes from No Accident in Paradise, with a quiet pulsating bass drum under wallowing surfaces and soft bleeps blows slowly on and on through the most beautiful prairie. Finally SIX10, the last brew has been emptied, and the party is over - or begins fresh from the beginning with Eating Snow, right from the top!

Enter your downloadcode »