Overview
Monkey Maffia
M.M.M.C.2.EP
FAT 056

 

VINYL RELEASE: 11.06.2012

DISTRIBUTED BY KOMPAKT

DIGITAL RELEASE: 15.06.2012

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

A. Sources From The Past Ed. 1
08:11
B1. Kinki Talk - Cowbells played by R.W.
06:34
B2. I Know You N.m.S.
06:32
MUSIKINFO

"We can fill a stadium anywhere in the world. but can we still make music that means something to people?" (Bono)


Monkey Maffia can easily fill a club just about anywhere in the world. However, he's also looking to make music that means something to people. His debut was a search, and his second release fit right along with this theme. His competence of variations is a characteristic of the DJ-dervish; yet he now exercises restraint and follows the right track. Over there, three Maffia lions roar 'Monkey's coming home!'.
All three songs come with a little bit of oomph poured from a cauldron. With the flame in his heart he develops a kind of ghetto slam sound, drunk on euphoria & the joy of playing music with the courage to experiment. Is that house or techno?! As a notorious music aficionado and beat-collector he has a multitude of influences to draw on. An affinity to breaks along with UK Funky George spices bring out the jack in him. Yes the spaces make the groove. Many can take something away from this. He loves the fine dialect of the world and that can be heard in his music into the furthest reaches of the score. A worldliness and coolness in the hips has Monkey Maffia developing a sound with a singular composition; a sound that overreaches the club standard fare to get at exactly the effect he's looking for.




TRACK INFORMATIONEN

A. Sources From The Past Ed. 1.
But of course this is the superstar of the release. It starts straight and then suddenly hops all over the place, break-dancer style. An irresistible voice rubs up against the beats and bass until everything weaves into a monster of a track in the superlative. This 'shaken' groove is the best weapon ever in the eternal battle against cellulite.


B1. Kinky Talk - Cowbells played by R.W.
A warm welcome to the drummer-workshop in the looney bin! Monkey voodoo magic influenced by the finest in naturalpharmaceuticals. Try it why don't you...


B2. I Know You N.m.S.
A dream prince sits on the piano. Additionally there is a steep beat-structure that is pressed along with female vocalsspliced with a decent 90's affinity from the boxes. A must have for the wide open spaces of summer and life aware in the fresh air. Beautiful freedom.

Zur Übersicht
Monkey Maffia
M.M.M.C.2.EP
FAT 056

 

VINYL RELEASE: 11.06.2012

DISTRIBUTED BY KOMPAKT

DIGITAL RELEASE: 15.06.2012

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

A. Sources From The Past Ed. 1
08:11
B1. Kinki Talk - Cowbells played by R.W.
06:34
B2. I Know You N.m.S.
06:32
MUSIKINFO

"Wir könnten jeden Tag irgendwo auf der Welt ein Stadion füllen. Aber fällt uns noch Musik ein, die den Menschen wirklich etwas bedeutet?" (Bono)

Monkey Maffia füllt irgendwo auf der Welt mühelos einen Club. Nun fällt ihm auch noch Musik ein, die den Menschen wirklich etwas bedeuten kann. War sein Debüt noch eine Suche, hat er mit seiner zweiten Veröffentlichung direkt Platz genommen. Seine Variationskompetenz, die man von ihm auch als DJ-Derwisch kennt, hat er etwas gezügelt und in die richtigen Bahnen gelenkt. Siehe da: Three Maffia Lions, die da brüllen, Monkey's coming home! Alle drei Lieder kommen mit einem Schwung daher, welcher einen aus dem Sessel kippt. Mit der Flamme im Herzen entwickelt er eine Art Ghetto Slam-Sound, getränkt in Euphorie und Spielfreude mit Mut zum Experiment. Ist das noch House oder schon Techno?! Als notorischer Musikliebhaber und Beat-Sammler hat er eine Vielzahl von Einflüssen in sich aufgesogen. Eine Affinität zu Breaks samt UK-Funky- & Garage-Würze machen bei ihm den Jack aus. Ja, die Leerstellen machen den Groove. Sollen doch andere hochdeutsch sabbeln und recyceln. Er liebt die feinen Dialekte der Welt und das hört man seiner Musik bis in die hintersten Ritzen an. Weltoffen mit einer Coolness in der Hüfte hat Monkey Maffia einen Klang mit eigener Dichtung entwickelt, der weit über die Clubstandardsprache hinausgeht - um genau da seine volle Wirkung zu erzielen.




TRACK INFORMATIONEN

A. Sources From The Past ed. 1.
Ganz klar, dies ist die Rampensau der Platte. Es beginnt gerade, plötzlich hüpfen überall Breakdancer herum. Eine unwiderstehliche Stimme reibt sich mit den Beats und Bässen, bis alles zu einem Monster von Track in den Superlativ zielt. Dieser shaked groove ist der beste, den es jemals gegen Cellulitis gegeben hat.


B1. Kinky Talk - Cowbells played by R.W.

Herzlich willkommen zum Trommelworkshop in der Klapsmühle! Monkey-Voodoo-Zauber unter Einfluss feinster Naturdrogen. Einfach mal probieren...


B2. I Know You N.m.S.

Ein Traumprinz sitzt am Piano. Dazu geht eine Beatstruktur steil, die samt female Vocal- Schnipsel mit dezenter 90s-Affinität aus den Boxen drückt. Sommer-Freiflächen must have and play für ein Lebensgefühl an der frischen Luft. Schöne Freiheit.