Zur Übersicht
Various Artists
FAT SIX10 Compilation Ed. 1
FAT 068-1

 

VINYL RELEASE: 25.08.2014

DISTRIBUTED BY KOMPAKT

DIGITAL RELEASE: 08.08.2014

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

A1. Metaboman & Large M - G and B
05:16
A2. Monkey Maffia - Gladis
06:43
B1. Kadebostan & Laolu - I Need to Feel Something
05:31
B2. Juno6 - Seq02
06:24
MUSIKINFO

What began in the mid-90's, initiated by the event-organizer duo Sperling & Mauss, in Jena as an event seriesby the name of "Freude am Tanzen" has long been the best-known platform for electronic music on the Saaleriver. In the meantime there are over sixty releases, a subsidiary label (Musik Krause) and in-house bookingagency. With 16 years in, the still young enterprise Freude am Tanzen is on the way from adolescence toadulthood. Yet in spite of tightly organized structures, fortunately boredom has not set in, and this is provenwith the jubilee compilation SIX10 Jahre Freude am Tanzen.

"For us it's all about a small forum to present our artists and thereby a view into the musical diversity", thisfrom FAT-head Thomas Sperling regarding the newest compilation. "It would be too easy to take the besttracks from 16 years of Freude am Tanzen and pack them into a sampler" he explains as the reasoning beingSIX10 being no 'best-of' but rather chock full with new tracks. Still, the question begs, why for the 16th year?"We decided against round numbered anniversaries because everyone does that", says Sperling. "It doesn'treally matter if it's 10, 15 or 16 years. Perhaps the next one is the 23rd. A nice prime number full of meaning.Incidentally you can't even come in a techno club with 16 years, but the first beer is good to go.

"Okay then, Cheers! A toast to sixteen years of Freude am Tanzen and likewise many new tracks from almostevery artist Metaboman and Large M bring their slamming house sound like they tend to do, to the stage. Meanwhile Monkey Maffia comes with a souled and divine essence; an inviting piano melody that just hammers.The Swiss compatriots Kadebostan & Laolu draw a hearty acid bath with deep and dark vocals as wellas stomach churning and massaging kicks. Then Juno6 from Leipzig comes with "Seq02" and shuts it downby essentially spelling out d-e-e-p-n-e-s-s.

Zur Übersicht
Various Artists
FAT SIX10 Compilation Ed. 1
FAT 068-1

 

VINYL RELEASE: 25.08.2014

DISTRIBUTED BY KOMPAKT

DIGITAL RELEASE: 08.08.2014

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

A1. Metaboman & Large M - G and B
05:16
A2. Monkey Maffia - Gladis
06:43
B1. Kadebostan & Laolu - I Need to Feel Something
05:31
B2. Juno6 - Seq02
06:24
MUSIKINFO

Was Mitte der Neunziger, initiiert vom Veranstalter-Duo Sperling & Mauss, in Jena als Partyreihe unter dem Namen „Freude am Tanzen“ begann, hat sich längst zur bekanntesten Plattform für elektronische Musik an der Saale mit bislang über sechzig Veröffentlichungen, eigenem Schwesterlabel (Musik Krause) und angeschlossener Booking-Agentur gemausert. Mit 16 Jahren auf dem noch immer jungen Buckel ist Freude am Tanzen heute auf dem besten Weg von der Adoleszenz ins Erwachsenendasein, doch dass dabei trotz gefestigter Strukturen zum Glück noch lange keine Langeweile Einzug halten muss, beweist nun die Jubiläums-Compilation SIX10 Jahre Freude am Tanzen.
„Es ging uns darum, eine kleine Werkschau unserer Künstler zu präsentieren und somit einen Einblick ich deren musikalische Vielfalt zu geben“, sagt FAT-Oberhaupt Thomas Sperling über die neueste Label-Compilation. „Es wäre zu einfach gewesen, die besten Tracks aus 16 Jahren Freude am Tanzen auf einen Sampler zu packen“, erklärt er die Tatsache, dass SIX10 kein Best-of wurde, sondern randvoll mit neuen Tracks steckt. Doch warum ausgerechnet zum sechzehnten? „Wir haben uns gegen runde Geburtstage entschieden, weil das so viele machen“, meint Sperling. „Es ist doch egal ob 10, 15 oder 16 Jahre. Vielleicht ist das nächste Jubiläum die 23. Eine schöne Primzahl mit reichlich Bedeutung. Übrigens kommt man mit 16 wahrscheinlich noch in keinen Technoclub, aber das erste Bier darf man offiziell zu sich nehmen.“

Metaboman & Large M zaubern ihren geballten Housesound gewohnt schroff auf die Bu?hne, bevor Monkey Maffia zu beseeltem Divensingsang eine zum Tanz ladende Pianomelodie hämmert. Die beiden Schweizer Kadebostan & Laolu lassen sich indessen auf ein beherztes Säurebad samt tiefdunklem Vocal, sowie Magengruben massierende Kicks ein und Juno6 aus Leipzig fährt mit „Seq02“ noch mal alle Lichter runter und buchstabiert uns in aller Ruhe D-e-e-p-n-e-s-s.