Overview
Taron-Trekka
Black Magic EP
FAT 072

 

VINYL RELEASE: 19.02.2016

DISTRIBUTED BY KOMPAKT

DIGITAL RELEASE: 19.02.2016

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

A1. Black Magic
06:13
A2. Monofile
06:25
B1. Red
06:52
B2. Distance
06:50
Feel One*
06:51
MUSIKINFO

Black magic, what is that supposed to be? A spell that seeks to do harm to others? Usually yes, however Taron-Trekka are animated by the best intentions, rather aim for the magic of the night and as always want to merely destroy the dancefloors of this world in a symbolic way. In fact, nobody has comes to grief with the four tracks of their “Black Magic EP” (the last part of their “Magic” triology) – nevertheless, they possess a certain magic.
However, Taron-Trekka don’t make jumbo jets disappear, they don’t walk through the Chinese wall or initiate other cocky tricks à la Copperfield. They are more like thimbleriggers. Or card jugglers. You know, those guys who surprise you when you least reckon with it. Those who have already outsmarted your mind when you were still thinking that it was just about to really begin.
Taron-Trekka have the groove and cast a net of loops, which magically creates a tremendous energy. Loops with which the smallest shift can open up worlds. Worlds, which admittedly appear accessible, but are hardly decipherable. This way, tools become magical tracks. Furthermore, house becomes a music, which brands itself to the last corners of a soul. Just like the trick that you haven’t understood until today.




TRACK INFORMATIONEN

A1. Black Magic
Taron-Trekka‘s ride through the night starts funky and dry with the title track of the EP. The effects bleep here and fade away there, however over distance a magical pull develops. A pull that can only be escaped from with great difficulty.


A2. Monofile
Regarding “Monofile”, Taron-Trekka conjures a groove as selfwilled as enchanting by initially making vocals and keys appear on a dead straight beat and then letting this very same one stumble over itself. At the right moment it engenders at least as much “Ohs” as “Ahs” in a club, you bet.


B1. Red

From black to red, from night until morning. For exactly this moment “Red” was made, which brings every last person to the next afterhour with its swing and depth.


B2. Distance
Entirely against its own title, “Distance” may indeed affect one deeply. Namely then, when one wants to delve into funk as subtle as extensive. That is Jan Jelinek at a gallop or SND with more punch. Both are fantastic.


Feel One (Digi Only)

Once again, Taron-Trekka show that they may enchante the lower BPM area due to their exclusive Digi bonus “Feel One”. Classic beatdown-dreamer-food with diffident areas and vocal philandering of which we cannot get enough.

Zur Übersicht
Taron-Trekka
Black Magic EP
FAT 072

 

VINYL RELEASE: 19.02.2016

DISTRIBUTED BY KOMPAKT

DIGITAL RELEASE: 19.02.2016

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

A1. Black Magic
06:13
A2. Monofile
06:25
B1. Red
06:52
B2. Distance
06:50
Feel One*
06:51
MUSIKINFO

Schwarze Magie, was soll da sein? Ein Zauber, der anderen schaden will? In der Regel schon, doch Taron-Trekka sind mit besten Absichten unterwegs, zielen eher auf die Magie der Nacht und wollen die Dancefloors dieser Welt wie immer nur sinnbildlich zerlegen. Denn zu Schaden kommt bei den vier Tracks ihrer „Black Magic EP“ (dem letzten Teil ihrer „Magic“-Trilogie) niemand – ein gewisser Zauber liegt ihnen dennoch inne.
Doch Taron-Trekka lassen keine Jumbo Jets verschwinden, laufen nicht durch die Chinesische Mauer oder lassen andere ähnlich großspurige Tricks à la Copperfield vom Stapel. Vielmehr sind sie wie Hütchenspieler. Oder Kartentrickser. Also die Typen, die dich überraschen, wenn du am wenigstens damit rechnest. Die deinen Verstand schon überlistet haben, als du noch dachtest, es ginge gerade erst richtig los.
Taron-Trekka haben den Groove und werfen ein Netz aus Loops aus, das auf magische Weise eine gewaltige Energie entwickelt. Loops, bei denen die kleinste Verschiebung Welten öffnen kann. Welten, die zwar leicht zugänglich scheinen, sich aber kaum entschlüsseln lassen. So werden aus Tools magische Tracks. Und aus House eine Musik, die sich bis in den letzten Winkel der Seele einprägt. So wie der Trick, den du bist heute nicht verstanden hast.




TRACK INFORMATIONEN

A1. Black Magic
Der Ritt durch die Nacht startet für Taron-Trekka mit dem Titeltrack der EP funky und trocken. Die Effekte bleepen hier auf und verhallen dort, doch erst über die Distanz entsteht ein magischer Sog. Einer, dem man sich wie so oft nur schwer entziehen kann.


A2. Monofile
Mit „Monofile“ zaubern Taron-Trekka einen so eigenwilligen wie hinreißenden Groove aus dem Produzentenhut, indem sie Vocals und Keys auf einem zunächst schnurgeraden Beat hervortreten und ebendiesen dann kurz über sich selbst stolpern lassen. Im richtigen Moment erzeugt das mindestens genauso viel „Ohs“ wie „Ahs“ im Club, jede Wette.


B1. Red
Von Schwarz zu Rot, von der Nacht in den Morgen. Für genau diesen Moment ist unter anderem „Red“ gemacht, das mit seinem Swing und Tiefgang wirklich jeden bis zur nächsten Afterhour trägt.



B2. Distance
Ganz wider seinem Titel, kann „Distance“ durchaus nah gehen. Dann nämlich, wenn man auf einen so subtilen wie weitreichenden Funk steht, in dem man sich tiefer als tief eingraben möchte. Das ist Jan Jelinek im Galopp oder SND mit mehr Punch. Beides grandios.


Feel One (Digital Only)

Für den exklusiven Digi-Bonus „Feel One“ zeigen Taron-Trekka noch einmal, dass sie auch im unteren BPM-Bereich verzaubern können. Klassisches Beatdown-Träumer-Futter mit verhuschten Flächen und Vocal-Liebeleien, von dem wir nie genug bekommen werden.