Overview
Monkey Maffia
Secular Earth Disk
FAT 075

 

VINYL RELEASE: 01.12.2017

DISTRIBUTED BY KOMPAKT

DIGITAL RELEASE: 01.12.2017

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

A1. Bad or Good?
06:42
A2. Fake Heroes
06:29
B1. Mini Mi
08:04
B2. Schörless
04:21
MUSIKINFO

Good things take time – ideally, including a great deal of oomph. At least when it concerns new tracks from within Monkey Maffia’s inner circle. It has been four whole years since we received the momentary last piece of the “Monkey Maffia Music Club”, 12 inches full of funky nasty beasts dedicated to the best dancefloors of this world. In the meantime, a remix was released here and a track was presented there, but now we may once again enjoy a full load of Monkey Maffia. And on top of that the now 75th release of Freude am Tanzen!
Monkey Maffia is personally providing the soundtrack for this ceremonial occasion. His tracks continually supply tremendous amounts of oomph to parties as well as loads of gravity and funk. After all, as an experienced DJ he simply knows what an awesome night looks like – a straight bass drum fractured while simultaneously amplified with infinitely warm synths. On one track, bass and percussion are throwing all our worries overboard, on the next one pads and vocals are shimmering to the bet. Whatever may happen, it can be said with utmost certainty that it will never become boring on either secular flat earth.




TRACK INFORMATIONEN

A1. Bad Or Good?
A total brain and leg screw, that spins and spins and spins. Any DJ willing to test how much funk a dancefloor can bear up to the third decimal place, will be perfectly served with this track as proof.

A2. Fake Heroes
Short reminder, but detailed clattering minimal with soul does still exist. At first, “Fake Heroes” frostily shines through aerial heights; however, then submerges all the more into unforeseen depths.

B1. MiniMi
Somehow jazzy, but was meant as house. Similarly hypnotic, equally free. Common thread is the bass drum, along which anything is possible. File under: secret weapon for truly late hours and DJs with guts.

B2. Schörless
This is a track that sends Larry Heard on an Orient trip and thereby extends over a much longer period than its brief four-and-a-half-minute length. For all those who are still serious about “deep” in house.

Zur Übersicht
Monkey Maffia
Secular Earth Disk
FAT 075

 

VINYL RELEASE: 01.12.2017

DISTRIBUTED BY KOMPAKT

DIGITAL RELEASE: 01.12.2017

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

A1. Bad or Good?
06:42
A2. Fake Heroes
06:29
B1. Mini Mi
08:04
B2. Schörless
04:21
MUSIKINFO

Gut Ding will Weile haben – und reichlich Wumms am besten gleich noch mit dazu. Zumindest dann, wenn es sich mal wieder um neue Tracks aus dem engsten Kreis der Monkey Maffia handelt. Ganze vier Jahre ist es inzwischen her, dass uns von dort aus der vorerst letzte Teil des „Monkey Maffia Music Club“ erreichte, eine 12-Inch voll funky-garstiger Biester für die besten Dancefloors dieser Welt. Zwischendurch erschien ein Remix hier und ein Track dort, doch nun gibt’s endlich wieder Monkey Maffia satt. Und das nunmehr 75. Release auf Freude Am Tanzen gleich noch mit dazu!
Der Soundtrack zu diesem feierlichen Anlass kommt von Monkey Maffia höchstselbst. Stichwort Wumms: den bringen seine Tracks stets genauso mit zur Party wie massig Tiefe und Funk. Denn als routinierter DJ weiß der Mann einfach, was eine lange Nacht alles braucht – hier wird die gerade Bassdrum gebrochen, dort mit endlos warmen Synths unterfüttert. In einem Track klappern uns Bass und Percussion die Sorgen aus dem Leib, im nächsten flirren die Pads und Vocals sehnsüchtig um die Wette. Was auch immer passiert, langweilig wird’s auf dieser wie jener weltlichen Erdscheibe mit Sicherheit nicht.




TRACK INFORMATIONEN

A1. Bad Or Good?
Totale Hirn- und Beinschraube, die dreht und dreht und dreht. Wer als DJ testen will, wieviel Funk bis auf die dritte Kommastelle genau so ein Dancefloor eigentlich aushält, ist mit diesem Track als Messgerät bestens bedient.

A2. Fake Heroes
Kleiner Reminder, aber kleinteilig-klappernder Minimal mit Seele, das gibt’s noch immer. „Fake Heroes“ schimmert zunächst kalt durch die luftigen Höhen, taucht dann aber umso weiter vor in ungeahnte Tiefen.

B1. MiniMi
Irgendwie Jazz, aber als House gedacht. Ähnlich hypnothisch, genauso frei. Als roter Faden dient die Bassdrum, entlang dieser geht aber eigentlich alles. File under: Secret Weapon für die ganz späten Stunden und DJs mit Mumm.

B2. Schörless
Ein Track der Larry Heard auf Orient-Reise schickt und dabei viel weiter trägt als seine knapp viereinhalb Minuten Spielzeit. Für alle, die das „Deep“ im House noch ernst meinen.