Overview
Remood
Almost Gone EP
FAT-zig 019

 

DIGITAL RELEASE: 18.03.2016

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

01. Almost Gone
07:13
02. Upstairs
08:22
03. Nina's Broken Tango
05:34
04. Field Notes
07:09
05. New Haven
08:47
06. An Empty Letter
06:05
07. Twelve Grapes (Bonus)
06:39
MUSIKINFO

Almost Gone" is the name of Remood's debut ep (extended play) and contains 7 selected tracks of the last two years at almost an album's length.
Remood's sound can be located somewhere between Burial and James Last - vivid bass music with emotional dramaturgy, always a hip swing away from a solid genre classification, personally and openly experimenting with influences of a musical imprint of all that has beat, bass and soul.
The goal - leading the world of thought and emotion into narrowed pathways - has already been given up by Remood providing music that is ostensibly non-minimalist. The world around him is the paint set on which he draws and it shows - layer by layer. Field Recordings from the sad semi province, playful jazzy passages, multilayered beats with a natural swing, warm deep bass runs and an organic, lightly tinkered world of sound and synth assemble in arrangments that are rich in narration.
Escaping habits, at the same time not dissipating, remaining palpable, are the main motives of Remood's production method and the "Almost Gone" ep of the label Freude am Tanzen from Jena is a first signal for more.




TRACK INFORMATIONEN

1. Almost Gone
The title track of the ep begins like a deep breath of air in the forests, followed by a heavy analogous surface which pushes its way out of the deepness bit by bit in order to spread on a grooving broken beat. Ensnared by an electric piano and a mellotron, "Almost Gone" juggles an entire orchestra of elements and doesn't provide any breathing space.

2. Upstairs
From the beginning, "Upstairs" starts in a nu jazzy direction and reveals more and more surprising track elements in its playful arc of suspense which seem to be jamming with the sometimes driving, sometimes prancing drums. The small finale with chimes dissolves unexpectedly in a bittersweet break-down during the last third of the track and radiates the warmth of a summer rain with emotional rhodes, sub-bass and reduced drum-work.

3. Nina's Broken Tango
Dust and noise, low-pitched piano fragments, garage-like yoghurt pot drums, and echoes of something that apparently used to be a tango, provide the dark scaffold of the tune before it flees into dreamy melancholy. It remains his secret who nina is. Maybe we're all a bit nina.

4. Field Notes
Turning the screw toward 130 bpm, clear memories of Remood's drum and bass past resonate in "Field Notes". The foundation is a reese bassline that arbitates between the soul-filled changes of chords, vocal snippets and the pushing drum machine beat. In the course of the track, a sizzling piano texture announces itself, which fully develops in the endearing breakdown and briefly threatens to drift into a harsh, distorted world before the beat retrieves it into reality and dissolves the track harmonically.

5. New Haven
A bit of sailor's yarn melodized in almost 9 minutes. Nostalgically gazing into the distance, "New Haven" seems to tell a story of the sea with its entwined elements and emotional bobbing movement which one ought to listen to.

6. An Empty Letter
In halftime pace "An Empty Letter" sets the finale. With voluminous piano chords and a rustling beat, which appears to merely be held together by the snare, the track accumulates to an oddly banal statement and the admission to not be able to offer all of that or maybe not even wanting to. Within the last part, "An Empty Letter" shatters into a melancholic, "bluesy" collage which releases the listener into the dark night.

7. Twelve Grapes (Bonus)
The bonus track "Twelve Grapes" reveals itself in a dark and distant manner. The track is borne by an hypnotic bassline and synth chords which proceed to dub-techno-terrain. By the shifting drum elements and exciting modulations, "Twelve Grapes" remains interesting, mysterious and especially danceable until the very end.

Zur Übersicht
Remood
Almost Gone EP
FAT-zig 019

 

DIGITAL RELEASE: 18.03.2016

DISTRIBUTED BY FINETUNES

01. Almost Gone
07:13
02. Upstairs
08:22
03. Nina's Broken Tango
05:34
04. Field Notes
07:09
05. New Haven
08:47
06. An Empty Letter
06:05
07. Twelve Grapes (Bonus)
06:39
MUSIKINFO

"Almost Gone" heißt die Debüt-EP von Remood und vereint 7 ausgewählte Stücke aus den letzten zwei Jahren auf nahezu Albumlänge.
Irgendwo zwischen Burial und James Last kann man den Sound von Remood verorten – Bildhafte Bassmusik mit emotionaler Dramaturgie, immer einen Hüftschwung von fester Genreklassifikation entfernt, persönlich und offen experimentierend mit den Einflüssen einer musikalischen Prägung aus allem was Beat, Bass und Soul hat.
Das Ziel – Gedanken- und Gefühlswelt in reduzierte Bahnen zu lenken – hat Remood längst aufgegeben und seine Musik gibt sich betont unminimalistisch. Die Welt um ihn herum ist der Farbkasten, aus dem er sich bedient und das merkt man – Schicht für Schicht. Field Recordings aus der traurigen Halbprovinz, verspielte jazzige Passagen, mehrschichtige Beats mit natürlichem Swing, warme tiefe Bassläufe und eine organische, leicht angefrickelte Sound- und Synthwelt fügen sich in erzählungsreichen Arrangements zusammen.
Das Ausbrechen aus Gewohntem, sich dabei aber nicht zu verzetteln, fühl- und greifbar zu bleiben, sind die zentralen Motive in Remoods Produktionsweise und die "Almost Gone" EP auf dem Jenaer Label Freude am Tanzen ein erstes Signal für Mehr.




TRACK INFORMATIONEN

1. Almost Gone
Wie ein tiefes Luftholen in den Wäldern beginnt der Titeltrack der EP, gefolgt von einer schweren analogen Fläche, die sich Stück für Stück ihren Weg aus der Tiefe bahnt, um sich auf einem groovendem Broken Beat breit zu machen. Umgarnt von E.Piano und Mellotron jongliert "Almost Gone" ein ganzes Orchester an Elementen und lässt dabei keine Zeit zum Verschnaufen.

2. Upstairs
Von Anfang an bricht "Upstairs" in eine nujazzige Richtung auf und offenbart in seinem verspielten Spannungsbogen immer mehr überraschende Songelemente, die mit den mal treibenden, mal tänzelnden Drums zu jammen scheinen. Das kleine Finale mit Glockenspiel zergeht unerwartet in einem bittersüßen Breakdown im letzten Drittel des Stücks und versprüht mit gefühlvollen Rhodes, Sub-Bass und reduziertem Drumwork die Wärme eines Sommerregens.

3. Nina's Broken Tango
Staub und Rauschen, Tief gepitchte Pianofragmente, garageartige Joghurtbecherdrums, und Echos von Etwas, das scheinbar mal ein Tango war, bilden das dunkle Grundgerüst des Tunes, bevor er sich in verträumte Melancholie flüchtet. Wer Nina ist, bleibt dabei sein Geheimnis. Vielleicht sind wir ja alle ein bißchen Nina.

4. Field Notes
Die Schraube in Richtung 130 BPM drehend, hallen bei "Field Notes" deutliche Reminiszenzen an Remoods Drum&Bass Vergangenheit nach. Grundierung bildet eine Reese Bassline, die zwischen den souligen Akkordwechseln, Vocalschnipseln und dem schiebenden Drummachine-Beat vermittelt. Im Laufe des Stücks kündigt sich eine zischende Piano-Textur an, die sich im einnehmenden Breakdown komplett entfaltet und kurz droht in eine harsche verzerrte Welt zu driften, bevor sie der Beat wieder in die Realität holt und das Stück harmonisch auflöst.

5. New Haven
Ein bisschen Seemannsgarn vertont in fast 9 Minuten. Nostalgisch in die Ferne blinzelnd scheint "New Haven" mit seinen verschlungenen Elementen und emotionalen Auf- und Abbewegungen eine Geschichte vom Meer zu erzählen, der man zuhören sollte.

6. An Empty Letter
Im Halftime-Tempo setzt "An Empty Letter" den Schlusspunkt. Mit voluminösen Piano-Akkorden und einem raschelnden Beat, der scheinbar nur noch von der Snare zusammengehalten wird, massiert sich der Track in eine seltsam banale Aussage und dem Zugeständnis, gar nicht mehr als das anbieten zu können oder vielleicht auch gar nicht zu wollen. Im letzten Part zerbricht "An Empty Letter" in eine melancholisch-bluesige Collage, die den Hörer in die dunkle Nacht entlässt.

7. Twelve Grapes (Bonus)
Der Bonustrack "Twelve Grapes" zeigt sich von einer düsteren und kühlen Seite. Getragen wird er von einer hypnotischen Bassline und Synth-Chords, die sich weit ins Dubtechno-Terrain begeben. Durch die wechselnden Drum-Elemente und spannungsvollen Modulationen bleibt "Twelve Grapes" bis zum Schluss interessant, geheimnisvoll und vor allem tanzbar.